- player is leaving the ice on a change, player jumps on the ice to replace him and the puck comes up along the boards and hits the skates of the player leaving the ice.
Of all the times I have seen this happen (which is a lot - see above), there has NEVER been a penalty called. The penalties I have seen called happen when the player coming on plays the puck or otherwise gets involved with the play before the player leaving gets off the ice. While this goes against my understanding of the rule and the rule I have been used to playing with, I just figured that's the way it worked in the NHL (even though, when that happens, it sometimes takes away great scoring chances....doesn't seem fair).
So, last night we see Filpulla (I think) go to make a change and then decide to turn and make a play on the puck. Clearly, this is a penalty, but I got to thinking....why is this different than the scenario I just described above (other than intent)?
I checked the rule and here is part of 74.1:
If in the course of making a substitution, either the player entering
the game or the player retiring from the ice surface plays the puck with
his stick, skates or hands or who checks or makes any physical
contact with an opposing player while either the player entering the
game or the retiring player is actually on the ice, then the infraction of
too many men on the ice will be called.
Edit: Something strange happened there before I could finish my thought (must have hit a wrong button)....anyway, does anyone have a similar memory to me and have difficulty figuring out why they don't call the first example as a penalty. Based on the rule, it clearly should be.
Edited by toby91_ca, 03 May 2010 - 12:42 PM.