It would not be a goal because the last deliberate action on the puck was the kick by Hossa. It doesn't matter if the kicking motion was towards the net or not. If the puck enters the net as a result of a kicking motion then it is not a goal.
OK Agreed... ( I am not trying to be argumentative ...BUT)
We know they maybe made a bad call.. they will never say WHY they called it that or why it was called this! So we may never know
This is what I came up with..take it for what its worth, Ignore it..what ever you want.
49.2 Goals - Kicking the puck shall be permitted in all zones. A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net. A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who kicks a puck that deflects into the net off any player, goalkeeper or official.
The puck was kicked yes..but it was not at the net. His kicking motion was off the post..which is not a shot on goal. SO..in keeping with that....
A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal. A puck that is directed into the net by an attacking player's skate shall be a legitimate goal as long as no distinct kicking motion is evident. The following should clarify deflections following a kicked puck that enters the goal:
Nothing is definitive on the deflection off post or any equipment lying on the ice. Assuming the puck deflects off a discarded stick and goes in....It would be ruled a good goal.
the same would be if it was deflected off the post of the goal. So Here is my ultimate and "who gives a crap" look at what I think the NHL was thinking.
A) the puck was kicked but it was not at the goal, or it would of went in and NO GOAL would of been the call on the ice.
B) the puck deflected off the post(s) and waffled in on edge with momentum going into the net...
SO I guess that's why it was called good.
The rule does not state that the "Last deliberate action on the puck must be......" So I am not convinced that the call should of been made by that alone. (Had it gone in direct off the skate- I agree no goal is the right call) They made the call based on interpretations of rules that they enforce. Beyond that.. I have no clue.
Ill Finish this off so you don't have to say another word... something like this right??
LGW Nation Mr. Hockeytown?
Hockeytownryan: Yes, sir?
LGW Nation: That is a lucid, intelligent, well thought-out objection.
Hockeytownryan: Thank you, sir.
LGW Nation: Overruled.
Edited by Hockeytown_Ryan, 07 April 2011 - 01:59 PM.