• Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

CaptainCaveMan

Rule question

Rate this topic

14 posts in this topic

I feel like an idiot for asking this since I've been watching hockey for two decades....

Against florida, the wings got a 5 minute major. After a bit, florida got a two minute minor and it was 4-on-4.

If the wings would have scored during this time, the florida player would come out of the penalty box right? Since it's major vs. minor is my line of thinking. I'm sure I've seen this, but I don't remember this happening

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pretty sure you are correct. I don't know of any rule that would make it any different.

BTW- I loved Captain Caveman.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm almost positive nothing would have happened had they scored, it was 4 v 4, an even strength situation. Unless there is a specific rule for major vs minor penalty... then id like to know the exact ruling. Google to the rescue!

Din758 and Smite like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ya, id say cuz it was an even strength goal (4v4) the 4v4 would continue.

not a stupid question though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yea after trying to find the answer, looking through the rules, I'm fairly confident nothing would happen as even strength goals are exactly that and don't result in the removal of a penalty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the responses guys. The question just kind of popped in my head while watching that game.

I was thinking about how if the wings scored (and the florida player came out of the box) it would result in an immediate man advantage for florida. So if that were the case, then it would probably be worth it NOT to try to score during that time. I guess I'm used to matching majors instead of just one team getting one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know for a fact that the FLO player would not come out of the box. At 4 on 4 it is an even strength scenario. A goal scored by either team, during this time, would be considered an even strength goal for the stats crew. No player would come out of the box.

It's no different than if Player A for DET had received a double minor for high sticking and then Player B for FLO received a minor. If a goal was scored during this time no one comes out either.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a question now on the same play. After the Panthers player comes out of the box, would it make it a second PP chance, or just still one?

Edited by Barrie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a question now on the same play. After the Panthers player comes out of the box, would it make it a second PP chance, or just still one?

Still the same one, I believe, as it's all stemming from the one penalty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a question now on the same play. After the Panthers player comes out of the box, would it make it a second PP chance, or just still one?

I would think it would we classified as the same PP

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It would have been an even strength goal; all players would have completed their penalties. Second question, it would have been the same PP and not a second.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I feel like an idiot for asking this since I've been watching hockey for two decades....

Against florida, the wings got a 5 minute major. After a bit, florida got a two minute minor and it was 4-on-4.

If the wings would have scored during this time, the florida player would come out of the penalty box right? Since it's major vs. minor is my line of thinking. I'm sure I've seen this, but I don't remember this happening

NHL Rule Book Information

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No the player would not come out of the box if a goal was scored while 4 on 4. The purpose here is to determine the on-ice numerical strength at the time the goal was scored and if this case had happened both teams would have still had penalty time remaining on the clock and therefore no penalty would terminate. Once the minor penalty is completed then that team would have gone back to the PP since the major penalty cannot be terminated.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now