Jump to content

- - - - -

Jennings Trophy

  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 toby91_ca



  • Gold Booster
  • 8,962 posts

Posted 14 April 2014 - 09:19 AM

This has to be the dumbest award.  The award goes to the goalie, playing in at least 25 games, on the team that has given up the fewest goals (so, sometimes it is shared).


So, it's really a team award, but they give it to an individual.  I don't like a lot of goalie stats because I find most of them to be team oriented, however, if you want to give out an individual award for fewest goals against, why don't you give it to the goalie with the lowest GAA?


Harding and Elliott had significantly lower GAA stats than Quick.  They both played more than 25 games, but not much.  If you want to draw the line in the sand on it at 40 games, that's fine, Schneider had a GAA of 1.97 and Rask had 2.04, both lower than Quick.


What the award shows here is that Quick ended up having the worst GAA on his team.

#2 WingsallTheway



  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,049 posts
  • Location:Sudbury

Posted 14 April 2014 - 06:53 PM

There is only one award for the goalies to try and win....which gives an award to 3% of starting goalies. Theres not really anything else they could try and give them something to compete for other than shutouts


Pavel datsyuk is the best player in the world because he snatches the puck from unsuspecting players and  follows it up by the simultaneous undressing of the defence pairing. The goalie then gives up, and flops like a fish. The end result is a calm skate back to his bench  where he can bask in the praise of his multiple girlfriends from the motherland.


Similar Topics Collapse

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users