I was referring to the Flyers player who would stand on the face off dot for 30 seconds not willing to take a face off in an appropriate amount of time.
By the rule, they can only use that rule if the puck is not being played. Therefore, when Philly skated around and passed within their zone they were playing/moving the puck. I believe the NHL called the officials during a stoppage to clarify this rule. The referees were told not to interfere with the coaching strategies as long as the puck was being moved.
- cleary11 likes this