Wrong. You dont have to move if youve established that ice. Smith was moving to prevent a defender from coming out and challenging Kindl thus opening up a lane to goal. Smith knew what he was doing. He went out of his way to get in the way and set a pick. Textbook interference/tripping since Smith got him with his stick.
Smith didn't move his stick. The Washington player stepped on it which isn't a penalty by rule. It's not a penalty and was only called because they missed what could have been called on Ovechkin.
I'm glad you know what each payer is thinking while they play, that must be quite the gift.