It's a new rule which is why it seems like they don't call it. They have. I've seen it called 4-5x at least during games I've watched.
Having said that, I'm not sure Pavs touched it with his hand, and if he did, his hand was still on the stick so it's not like he closed his hand on the puck. They showed a replay of it, from the camera that was facing Pavs on ice level. Puck was behind his gloves/stick, but I didn't see if he touched it or where it went.
What I don't get is, they allow hand passes in the defensive zone, but you can't do it off the faceoff? If you're in the d zone, it's a hand pass, nothing more. If you're not in your zone...then it's a hand pass and they call it down. Why assess a penalty? I don't remember which zone they were in, but that's irrelevant, it shouldn't be a penalty.
- Rick D likes this