Jump to content

LAWings's Photo


Member Since 27 Sep 2013
Offline Last Active Jan 08 2016 08:01 PM

Topics I've Started

Coach's video challenge

12 October 2014 - 09:46 AM

In light of yesterday's shennanigans, this would be a prime example of utilizing the coach's challenge.  The NHL is very open to the challenge but not close to implementing it, maybe next season.


Last year the Wings had a doozy against LA where the puck clearly went into the netting and the refs missed it, with the puck bouncing off the LA goaltenders back and into the net.  Karma...


This article is from a few months back but gives insight into their thought process.




I've been very open to having one video challenge per game, yesterday solidified that.

23 man roster set... say hi to your 2014/15 Wings

07 October 2014 - 01:44 PM



Here is the Red Wings' 23-man roster:

Forwards: Justin Abdelkader, Joakim Andersson, Daniel Cleary, Johan Franzen, Luke Glendening, Darren Helm, Tomas Jurco, Drew Miller, Andrej Nestrasil, Gustav Nyquist, Riley Sheahan, Tomas Tatar, Stephen Weiss, Henrik Zetterberg.

Defensemen: Danny DeKeyser, Jonathan Ericsson, Jakub Kindl, Niklas Kronwall, Brian Lashoff, Kyle Quincey, Brendan Smith.

Goaltenders: Jonas Gustavsson, Jimmy Howard.

Injured reserve: Pavel Datsyuk (short-term).


"The best players will play..." - Mike Babcock

Will Cleary make the roster? (poll)

06 October 2014 - 02:27 PM

The roster is almost set with 3 more cuts to make with Dats on IR and Mrazek being sent down, that leaves one cut left.  This article doesn't even entertain the thought that Cleary can be cut, instead it mentions sending Jurco down. 


So who will it be? Cleary? Jurco? Ouellet? Lashoff?




Henrik Zetterberg-Pavel Datsyuk (IR)-Justin Abdelkader

Gustav Nyquist-Darren Helm-Johan Franzen

Tomas Tatar-Riley Sheahan-Tomas Jurco

Drew Miller-Luke Glendening-Joakim Andersson

*Daniel Cleary-Stephen Weiss-Andrej Nestrasil* - all in gray no contact / scratch jerseys

Niklas Kronwall-Jonathan Ericsson

Danny DeKeyser-Brendan Smith

Kyle Quincey-Xavier Ouellet

Brian Lashoff-Jakub Kindl

Jimmy Howard

Jonas Gustavsson