First, I'm not jumping off the bandwagon, I'm just trying to be honest. I still think Detroit can make it to the finals... if they don't face Chicago. And secondly, maybe it wasn't an elbow... but you can't really argue with call. It Was still a hit to the head, and it certainly looked like an elbow from the refs perspective. I'm alright with the call. And Chicago didn't score on the PP anyways. Yeah, we lost Bert for the game... but was that really such a bad thing?
Are you actually saying you're in favor of playing almost an entire game missing a guy, forcing another player to double shift (or forcing other players to sit, thus increasing everyone else's ice time)?
Of course it's a bad thing. You're going to have to overwork guys to fill up the gap in ice time, not to mention the fact that Bertuzzi's scored a point roughly every other game for the Wings. Would and extra point have mattered tonight? It might have been the difference between 2 points and 1...
SportsK does great work, and will even do it for jerseys that aren't just wing ones or NHL. They did my Quad City Mallard's jersey from the UHL and it is great.
This. SportsK will come HIGHLY recommended from dozens of LGW'ers (myself included). I have never been disappointed in anything that they've ever done for me. Their shipping is lightning fast, their service is second to none (responding to an email inquiry on a weekend), and their prices really can't be beat.
I highly, HIGHLY recommend SportsK for what you're wanting to do.
How did that goal even count? Lupul hit Howard in the crease and then sat on him. That's allowed?... We get goals called back by only hitting a goalie in the pads with the stick.
It's a rule in the CBA, I'm almost convinced of it. Something like Subsection 48.2, clause RW-G. "All goals scored while physically on top of the Red Wings goalie shall be counted, without possibility of review."
On an interesting side note, Subsection 48.3, clause TH says "If Tomas Holmstrom is even in the same building as the game being played, regardless of his status or availability to play in said game, any goal scored by the Red Wings can be waived off as Incidental Contact with the goalie. A penalty can be imposed, solely at the discretion of the referee...
It's easy to say it was clean when we have the capability to view it and review it and slow it down and pause it, etc. When you're the ref on the ice, seeing the game going by in one speed, a hit like that from his angle probably looked bad enough to call.
Was it the wrong call to make? Yeah, probably. Does that mean that this hit is now indicative of a league wide policy/conspiracy to end hitting? Hardly.