How did that goal even count? Lupul hit Howard in the crease and then sat on him. That's allowed?... We get goals called back by only hitting a goalie in the pads with the stick.
It's a rule in the CBA, I'm almost convinced of it. Something like Subsection 48.2, clause RW-G. "All goals scored while physically on top of the Red Wings goalie shall be counted, without possibility of review."
On an interesting side note, Subsection 48.3, clause TH says "If Tomas Holmstrom is even in the same building as the game being played, regardless of his status or availability to play in said game, any goal scored by the Red Wings can be waived off as Incidental Contact with the goalie. A penalty can be imposed, solely at the discretion of the referee...
It's easy to say it was clean when we have the capability to view it and review it and slow it down and pause it, etc. When you're the ref on the ice, seeing the game going by in one speed, a hit like that from his angle probably looked bad enough to call.
Was it the wrong call to make? Yeah, probably. Does that mean that this hit is now indicative of a league wide policy/conspiracy to end hitting? Hardly.