The rule states smith has to push it off deliberately or accidentally, smith did not do that. It says nothing about pushing a player into the net. This is where the NHL leaves the rule open for interpretation. Make it black or white. By that rule smith did nothing wrong.
The rule does state that.
"the goal post must have been displaced by the actions of a defending player or goalkeeper"
Was the goal posts displaced? Yes
Was it due to the actions of Smith? Yes. That player that had an easy tap in wasn't going to knock the net off himself just standing there.
Watch the replay again. The net comes up off the mooring before he starts the shot. He has the stick back for the puck when it first comes off but it hasn't started moving forward yet. No goal.
After Smith pushes him into the net. Smith doesn't do that, its an easy tap in goal. The goal as imminent, and Smith's actions caused the net to go off its moorings. Once again, good goal.
- Din758 likes this