• Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Rick Zombos Ghost

Was there a goal missed yesterday? (game 2)

Rate this topic

80 posts in this topic

How the hell did the zebra flapping his arms by the side of the net miss that live?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The TSN replay ends too early, but you can see (just before that clip ends) the puck start to come back across the crease towards where it came from. That is where I think it gets knocked into the back of the net with Niemi. Niemi's stick is what actually knocks the puck in after it gets pushed by Demers who's on all fours because he got cross checked by Bertuzzi.

Unfortunately none of this matters. Games over, they didn't review. Hopefully they are better Wednesday night.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, I couldn't believe that wrap around didn't go in. Then I saw the replay and Franzen messed up. If he had shot it straight in on the left post, it would've been a goal, but he, I guess, lost control of the location of the shot and basically shot it right into his pad. Pushing the goalie into the net is irrelevant. If the goalie's on the top of the puck, you can't push him into the net and have it count... that is unless you're the Ducks pushing Hasek into the goal (2007 playoffs).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I saw this too and couldn't believe they were just carrying on like it never happened. Regardless of whether the goal should count or not, anytime the puck is pulled out of the net after a play NBC should have some responsibility to explain what is going on.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The TSN replay ends too early, but you can see (just before that clip ends) the puck start to come back across the crease towards where it came from. That is where I think it gets knocked into the back of the net with Niemi. Niemi's stick is what actually knocks the puck in after it gets pushed by Demers who's on all fours because he got cross checked by Bertuzzi.

Unfortunately none of this matters. Games over, they didn't review. Hopefully they are better Wednesday night.

Hmmmm you Sir, are right I believe... they did show an overhead last night and from what I remember there was nothing conclusive. Basically commentators said Franzen messed up by trying to shoot too early and not taking another half step toward the goal. Guess we'll now never know!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The freep has now picked up on it with this article...

freep article

That's why, at the very least, it would have been nice if the play had been reviewed. Tough to definitively say that the Wings got jobbed, though.

Would have certainly changed the game immensely.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The freep has now picked up on it with this article...

freep article

Would have certainly changed the game immensely.

well its officialy not just a crazy fan conspiracy anymore

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

well its officialy not just a crazy fan conspiracy anymore

There ya go. I was thinking to myself, "Does this guy work for the freep, too?"

:lol: Good to see it being looked at by others as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

anyone who watched the game on TSN knows the puck never went in. TSN showed many replays of the play during the game, none of which showed the puck going in the net.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

anyone who watched the game on TSN knows the puck never went in. TSN showed many replays of the play during the game, none of which showed the puck going in the net.

i dont have TSN. im basing this off my only source which is NBC.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

anyone who watched the game on TSN knows the puck never went in. TSN showed many replays of the play during the game, none of which showed the puck going in the net.

Regardless, it's ludicrous to not even give it a look. Plays like that one should be reviewed, not tossed to the side.

Edited by HankthaTank

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i dont have TSN. im basing this off my only source which is NBC.

Regardless, it's ludicrous to not even give it a look. Plays like that one should be reviewed, not tossed to the side.

i understand what you guys are saying. i would've wondered myself if i had watched it on NBC.

edit: i just watched the nbc replay. i see what you guys are saying. it definitely looked sketchy.

Edited by atodaso

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Had they already blown the whistle??? My guess would be those reviewing in Toronto would have the TSN broadcast and what the poster above said, it was not in on TSN. Fishyyyyyy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was screaming about no review when this happened yesterday but then I just remembered the NHL's " intent to blow"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmmmmm getting very fishy... Then again I think it just serves Franzen right for deciding to only shoot the puck in the last 5-10 minutes :ph34r:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And the Plot thickens!! Sweet Jesus this league is soooooo Bush League its pathetic! NWL, National Wateredown League!! Hell the NBA has more creditablity than the NWL!! JOKE!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's possible, but it's not really worth arguing it. The game is over.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I say because of this Wings start Game 3 with a 1-0 lead.

Yeah but then there'd be a penalty against Detroit in the first 15 seconds which the Sharks would score on. ;)

Edited by Lonewuhf

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You know your team is in trouble when threads like this pop up. I believe the intent to blow whistle rule pretty much guarantee they would have waived off the goal even if it did cross the line. What kind of pissed me off about game 2 was when Eager i think it was got a 10 minute misconduct yet the wings never got a powerplay out of it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It was pretty clear when watching it, but I just assumed Niemi was shoved in and therefore wouldn't have counted, or something.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0