• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Sign in to follow this  
Pilsnermonkey

Where were team-mates on the Smith headshot

Rate this topic

Didn't see the game.

That said - I'm not surprised.

I can understand Holland/Babcock not having fighters on the roster, but I tend to disagree with them, and feel that a few guys capable of dropping the gloves when needed is much needed, but that's just me.

I used to fell the same way. Now I think I understand the strategy. Being outside of Michigan I'm now always watching commentators not named Mick and Ken. I always here something to the affect of: The Red Wings are good, but not physical or dirty, so there's no reason to dislike them at all, here's to an honest hockey game.

I'm a pro physical hockey-guy, I like to see fights and would love to have a physical nasty bottom 6. But it's quite apparent to me at this point that the Wings are one step ahead of the league. They see, like myself, that despite our cravings for old time punch-em-in-the-face-hockey, that's not the direction the league is going. The Wings are fielding a pure sport team. Occasionally other teams will take advantage of that, but for the most part other teams respect us for how we play the game and most games remain honest. I get that, and like the classiness behind it, but I hatttttttttttttteeeeeeeeee when this kind of thing with Smith happens. I don't want a waste of space Mcgrattan or Orr type, but I would love if someone like Abdelkader or E would step up for their teammates.

Unfortunately the league is becoming soft whether we like it or not. Babcock already admits to steering his D-men away from fighting, and from that I'm guessing that he probably doesn't want his team in general to fight. In the long-run it's probably smart that we're focusing on the pure sport of hockey, but as an old-time hockey fan it just sucks to see our boys not get support.

Here's a late goodbye to an era.