• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Sign in to follow this  
Joe S

is there anything "good" about the Wings?

Rate this topic

I have played some pickup hockey and even coached for a year, but I am no self proclaimed expert on the game. Therefore, I would like someone who actually knows about the game to tell me if there is anything good about this team.

The way I see it, they have some potentially good players. I say potentially good because for some of them, there was a time when they actually did play good hockey. Right now, they are the laughing stock of the game of hockey, not just the NHL.

They play like ice-mites, they whack the puck when they get it with no concern what so ever as to where it goes. They dump and do not chase. They cannot complete a pass( and if they do, its only one pass, never two in a row). They never drive to the net, the best they can do is skate in that general direction once in a while before they dump the puck in the corner and head for the bench. 

The concept of puck control is completely absent from this team.  I know that they have more talent than that, so the question has to be asked, why do they consistently play that way? I can only conclude that that is the way the coaching staff wants them to play, which is the great mystery to me, because I KNOW that Steve Y knows better than that, so why does he put up with it?

It also appears to me that they do not have the conditioning to play hard the entire game, but they must have conditioning standards that are at least roughly the same as other teams. I would like to blame it all on Blashill, but they have Bylsma on the team and he did win the Cup with Pittsburg, so must have at least one coach who knows up from down.