I don't think the whistle affected the play, but by the rulebook it shouldn't have counted. Which begs the question, does intent to blow exist in IIHF?
I don't know anything about the international rulebook, but by my ideal rules, the goal should not have counted. I do however think Canada played well enough to win, and I'm sure in the first two periods there were controversial calls both ways. Besides, it's only the round-robin. It's the gold medal game that counts, and that is still 0-0.
In every sport I've ever played where officials had whistles, a blown whistle means the play is dead. The US-Canada thing wasn't even the intent to blow argument, the whistle had been blown.